What I Want To Be When I Grow Up

Posted on January 17, 2011

0


I’m 35.  Old, according to my daughter.  Young, according to my grandmother.  I have finally figured out what I want to be when I grow up.  I wanna be like Jesus.

How does that work? I haven’t worked out the details yet.

What I do know is:

I want to give up more stuff. (Most of you know we went through a purge about a year ago and cleaned out our closets and cabinets.  It’s time to do it again though.  This time we clean out movies and cds.  Knickknacks and picture frames.  It’s time.)

I want to quit relying on 7 year old children from foreign countries to make my clothes.

I want to live in community with other families.  I don’t believe we were created to go this road alone.  I believe if we share what we have with others and vice versa, the road is much easier to walk.

I want to eat simpler.  Live simpler.

I want to do for my neighbor.

I want to help those who are hurting.

I want to share a cry with a friend.

I want to feed the hungry and shelter the homeless.

I want to teach my children what true love looks like.

I want to need less and give more.

I want to be a little bit more like Jesus every day.

I want to do what God wants me to do every day.

Is that too much to ask?

No? Then why is it so hard?

So, I’m challenging myself – starting right now – to earnestly pray and ask God “What do you want me to do today?  Put someone in my path that needs to see Your love.” Every day.

Posted in: Faith, Family, Life