Breathing

Posted on January 17, 2011

4


I held my breath hoping that I would say the right thing.  Hoping that the words would come out the way I had played them out in my head. They didn’t.  But the message was still the same.

I wronged someone 7 years ago.  After some time had passed (a few years actually), we began to rebuild a friendship that was never given time to grow.

All this time, the issue has sat in the corner of the room every time we are together.  It’s always there, right below the surface. The so called elephant.

Yesterday, I was given the opportunity to apologize.  The words didn’t come out right.  The tears came like I had prayed they wouldn’t.  I sounded like a bumbling idiot.  But I said “I am sorry.”

She touched my hand and said “I forgive you.”

There is no elephant in the room now.  We will still be healing from this hurt for a while.  The words I said are no magic spell that puts everything right, but it did put everything just a little more right.

Maybe you need to say “I am sorry.” Maybe you need to say “I forgive you.” Go ahead, put yourself out there. Extend that hand.

