An Update on My Mellifluous Life

Posted on December 2, 2010

0


I honest to goodness love my life. It’s not perfect – far from it – but we are a pretty happy family and that makes me happy.

Keith and I were taking a walk with Em and Ronnie (the dog) on Thanksgiving Day and as we watched Em run off with the dog running right along beside her, I couldn’t help but grin.  We have happy kids. We are a happy family.

At about the same time, Keith and I weren’t grinning any longer. We were remembering the previous walk we had taken where we passed a house that had people screaming so loud – at their kids – that I could clearly hear their hateful words.

Thank you, God, for my amazing family.

Now that Thanksgiving is over, we have a pretty hectic month ahead: an evening of The Nutcracker featuring one of our girls, Keith’s birthday, the in-laws flying in, Advent, Christmas, all the celebrations that go along with December, crafting, decorating and  – hopefully – a whole lot of prayer and reflection.  Phew. But do you see the trend?  I get to do all this with my family.  That makes me a whole lotta happy.

Thanks you, God, for the time to make memories with my children.

I finished my first seasonal craft.  I made an Advent calendar.

It’s made out of felt pockets that hang over a festive ribbon.

It only took three. freakin. days.  to get it done.  But, alas, it’s done.  And I like it.  Only problem is… those pockets were supposed to hold a piece of chocolate (and nope, no side stitching was required) but how does the chocolate not fall out??? Thoughts?

 

Thanksgiving was a success!  Wednesday we had a Community Thanksgiving with our friends at the Brainerd Neighborhood Mission.  We probably had 40+ people come and eat with us.  Thursday, we had a small dinner at home, played some board games, watched The Parade and just hung out as a family!

As most of you know, Tique the Elf came to spend the holiday with us.  We received Tique last year and had hoped he would return!  Tique kind of Trick or Treats our house at night – without ringing the doorbell.  He either gets into some mischief or leaves a note or – like this week – a gift certificate to buy craft supplies to make a family member an ornament.  Keep your eyes on the blog for more Tique happenings.

Christmas is right around the corner and we have decided to do things a bit differently this year.  We are simplifying Christmas:  not as many presents –  if you do get a present from us, odds are it’s homemade, less about stuff and more about Him.  We are also spending the week after Christmas in “Lights Out” mode.  We will eat dinner by candlelight and continue to go without electricity the rest of the evening. I seriously thought the kids would freak, but they have been asking for more time in “Lights Out”. It’s a time to bond together as a family and simply reflect.

We have a very busy weekend coming up: Keith has a show, we are decorating a homeless day center for Christmas and I am hosting a book release party. You are welcome to attend all three.  Keith’s show is at a gas station in Ringgold (no, I don’t get it either).  If you want, I can tell you specifically where.  The decorating is Saturday at noon.  The book release party is at 6 Saturday and it’s for Common Prayer by Shane Claiborne and Jonathan Wilson – Hartgrove.  You should definitely  come see us this weekend.

Till next time…

 

 

Posted in: Crafts, Life