What I Want to Be When I Grow Up

Posted on October 18, 2010

3


I’m 35. Old, according to my daughter. Young, according to my grandmother. I have finally figured out what I want to be when I grow up.

I don’t want to be a doctor. I would get annoyed being an attorney. I guess I already am a teacher. But I wanna be really crazy. No, not bipolar crazy. I got that covered, thank you very much. I wanna becrazy like Jesus.

How does that work? I haven’t worked out the details yet.

What I do know is:

I want to simplify. Yes, again. (Most of you know we went through a purge about a year ago and cleaned out our closets and cabinets. It’s time to do it again though. It’s time.)  I want to take CDs that we never listen to and give them to our friends. Same goes with movies. Whatever’s left over goes to McKay. I want to get rid of clothes, knickknacks, picture frames (Yikes…. I love pictures. I can’t believe I said that.) I want to get rid of the stuff that makes up our life.

I want to grow my own food. All of it. I know, I know. Probably not gonna happen. But I can shop at GreenLife and EarthFare for what I can’t grow myself.

I want to sew my own clothes or only shop at thrift stores. No more giving my money to companies that hire 7 year olds to work for pennies an hour to make my cute t-shirt that I just had to have because it had Wonder Woman on it.

I want to love my neighbor. All of them. That means when I take cake to my neighbors, I can’t forget the crotchety guy down the street. That means when the homeless kid I just saw asks me if I have any french fries, I can’t be stingy – I have to share. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.

I want to live in community with other families. I don’t believe we were created to go this road alone. I believe if we share what we have with others and vice versa, the road is much easier to walk.I even have my co-housers picked out.  (They don’t know yet, so don’t tell em. 😉 )

I want to eat simpler. Beans, one pot meals.  You know, quit with the main dish and three sides – not counting bread.

I want to help those who are hurting. 

I want to share a cry with a friend.

I want to feed the hungry and shelter the homeless.

I want to teach my children what true love looks like.

I want to need less and give more.

I want to be a little bit more like Jesus every day.

I want to do what God wants me to do every day.

Is that too much to ask?

No? Then why is it so hard?

So, I’m challenging myself – starting right now – to earnestly pray and ask God “What do you want me to do today? Put someone in my path that needs to see Your love.” Every day.

Posted in: God, Life