86 Days…and 111 Books

Posted on September 26, 2010

4


I have 86 days to read 11 books. The “for fun” books. Not the research books, like the Islam stuff. Or the homeschool stuff. We’re talking free reading time here, folks. That stuff I do before I go to bed. My for enjoyment reading.

I have challenged myself to read the last ten Pulitzer Prize winning works of fiction – and one biography. See there’s this website, Callapidderdays that hosts a Fall Into Reading Challenge and I decided to quit being lazy with my reading and since I tend to avoid award winning books and decided that the Pulitzer winners it was. And that pesky biography that I told Emily I would get done over the summer.

So…my reading list:
Pulitzers:
2010: Tinkers by Paul Harding
2009: Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
2008: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz
2007: The Road by Cormac McCarthy
2006: March by Geraldine Brooks
2005: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
2004: The Known World by Edward P. Jones
2003: Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
2002: Empire Falls by Richard Russo
2001: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon

Biography:
Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard by Liz Murray

That biography, up there? It’s gonna be my first new Kindle book purchase. Yeah that’s right, I ordered my Kindle last week. I am uber excited. We waited and saved a long time for it and … woohoo!! the time is here. It should be here by the 30th. I hope to buy two books every time I download to the Kindle: one that I have never read before and one that is to go into the ebook library.

I realized that I need a basic ebook library filled with my personal top 100 books. It won’t be built in a day but that’s my first Kindle goal.
My list won’t mirror the Modern Library’s Top 100 Books of All Time, but it will be MINE.

Some of the more definite ones:
‘Irresistible Revolution’ – Shane Claiborne
Wuthering Heights’ – Emily Bronte
‘The Shining’ – Stephen King
‘Ender’s Game’ – Orson Scott Card
‘Lord of the Rings’ – J.R.R. Tolkien
‘The Harry Potter Series’ – J.K. Rowling
‘The Catcher in the Rye’ – J.D. Salinger
‘Animal Farm’ – George Orwell
‘The Great Gatsby’ – F. Scott Fitzgerald
‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ – Harper Lee
“The Chronicles of Narnia’ Series – CS Lewis
‘American Gods’ – Neil Gaiman
‘The Lovely Bones’ – Alice Sebold
‘Lost Boys’ – Orson Scott Card
‘She’s Come Undone’ – Wally Lamb
‘Water for Elephants’ – Sara Gruen
‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’ – Audrey Niffenegger
‘Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal’ – Christopher Moore
‘The Haunting of Hill House’ – Shirley Jackson
‘The Witching Hour’ Anne Rice
‘Anne of Green Gables’ LM Montgomery
‘Twilight Series’ – Stephenie Meyer
‘A Great and Terrible Beauty’ – Libba Bray
‘Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret?’ – Judy Blume
‘The Outsiders’ – SE Hinton
‘Speak’ – Laurie Halse Anderson

What would make YOUR top 100?

Posted in: Books