My Nightstand

Posted on July 28, 2010

5


Lately I haven’t been caught up on anything and that includes reading. I feel totally scattered  and frazzled.
But I have managed to read some books and have a few more on my nightstand to be read.

Currently Reading:

The White Queen by Philippa Gregory – I have a fascination with the Tudor era historical fiction. This is quenching that thirst – for now.

God at the Kitchen Table by Scott Cooper – How to teach your children about God, morals, beliefs, values and explain conflicts between religion and science.  Good stuff.

Learning All the Time by John Holt – Known by some as the grandfather of unschooling, Holt’s book looks at how children will learn on their own if given the right tools and inspiration.  The books explains how children learn.

The Unschooling Handbook by Mary Griffith – No, we aren’t “unschooling”, although it may look that way from what I am reading but I am reading up on it.

Recently read:

Kiss by Ted Dekker – I like Dekker’s psychological thriller books with a Christian take on good vs. evil.  He’s a good writer and very engaging.

If I’m Diapering a Watermelon, Then Where’d I leave the Baby? by Carol Barnier – Loved, loved, loved this book. For every scattered, disorganized mom out there, this is an amazing read.  I didn’t check this one out of the library, I bought this one, so if you want to borrow it, let me know.

The Mother – Daughter Book Club by Shireen Dodson – I thought I would read this book and it would tell me new ways to discuss books with Abby. It’s aimed at much younger kids than Abby though. I could probably start a book club with Katie following this book. The author suggests that reading and discussing together can increase independence, strength and confidence in our daughters.

The Help – Kathryn Stockett – I love, love, love this book too!  It definitely gets my Best Summer Reading book award. I might find something better later on, but for now, this is the clear winner!

I have SO many more books to read (thanks Holly!!!) and I can’t wait to get to them. I just wish I had more time.

For more Nightstand posts visit 5 Minutes for Books.


Mostly homeschooling books! What can I say?  I think I now have read everything the library possesses on homeschooling!

Posted in: Books, Life